Buddhism is a first-rate world religion with over 500 million followers. And although it started in India over 2,000 years ago, it maintains to draw devoted practitioners from all around the world.Today, also there are some buddhism types. Buddhist temples may be observed from Sri Lanka to Canada.

Let’s take a look.

How Many Types Of Buddhism Are There?

  1. Theravada Buddhism
  2. Mahayana Buddhism
  3. Vajrayana Buddhism

What are the 3 styles of Buddhism?

The 3 essential branches of Buddhism are Theravada, Mahayana, and Vajrayana

But don’t be fooled. There are many different varieties of Buddhism, such as Zen, Thai Forest Tradition, and Pure Land Buddhism.

Theravada Buddhism: The School of the Elders

Theravada, the School of the Elders, is the oldest faculty of Buddhism. It attracts its practices from the earliest Buddhist teachings.

Theravada is the most conservative department of Buddhism. In fact, a number of strict guidelines govern Theravada meditation exercise. And new teachings are regularly reject from the exercise.

The Noble Eightfold Path includes: right vision, proper emotion, proper speech, right action, right livelihood, proper effort, right mindfulness, and proper meditation.

Today, Theravada Buddhism is maximum famous in Sri Lanka, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, and Myanmar.


Mahayana Buddhism: The Great Vehicle

Next up is Mahayana Buddhism: the maximum popular branch of Buddhism today. Mahayana Buddhism is maximum famous in Nepal, Japan, China, Tibet, and Korea

In Sanskrit, Mahayana means, “Great Vehicle.” Why? Well, this is a connection with the Mahayana Buddhism teaching of the bodhisattva.

A bodhisattva is a person who has end up awakened. ‘In fact, bodhisattvas have the potential to access nirvana, the state past suffering. But in preference to doing so, they select to postpone their nirvana to guide and train others.

In Mahayana Buddhism, all of us can become a bodhisattva. And bodhisattvas work to assist others acquire freedom from suffering.

‘Unlike Theravada Buddhism, the Mahayana tradition allows for new teachings outside the Pali canon. Popular sutras in Mahayana Buddhism are the Lotus Sutra and the Heart Sutra.

Vajrayana Buddhism: The Way of the Diamond

Vajrayana Buddhism is thought as“the Way of the Diamond.” But it’s once in a while also referred to as Tantric or Esoteric Buddhism.

And as far as different varieties of Buddhism go, Vajrayana is one in all the most unique.

What makes Vajrayana Buddhism so special is its method to speedy Enlightenment through the use of tantras. The tantras are mystical texts that date lower back to the sixth century CE. Some of those practices combine spiritual and physical practices that can be overwhelming for beginners.’Because of the acute application wanted for plenty Vajrayana Buddhist practices, maximum Vajrayana colleges only accept superior instructors and students.

What Are The 5 Rules Of Buddhism?

These five policies, also known as the five precepts, are common to most branches of Buddhism:

  1. “I adopt the principle to abstain from killing respiratory beings.”
  2. “To abstain from taking what isn’t always mine.”
  3. “I undertake the principle to abstain from misconduct regarding sense-pleasures.”
  4. “To abstain from fake speech.”
  5. “I undertake the training principle to abstain from alcoholic drink or drugs which are an possibility for heedlessness.”

‘So, which of the three different styles of Buddhism intrigued you most? Share your thoughts on Buddhism types inside the comments below



  1. Pingback: Theravada And Mahayana Buddhism – What Are The Differences? - Metta

  2. Samuel chew Reply

    Want to know more about Vajrayana buddhism if my request may be considered

Leave a Reply